Partial view of Tamarindo Estates Beach Apts.
Below are some recent travel reviews at TripAdvisor.com
Reviewed 13 April 2017
Culebra was our favorite island and Tamarindo Estates has the best snorkeling, hands down. The apartment was super clean and comfortable with gorgeous views and great privacy but the highlight was definitely the great snorkeling right off the private beach area. It is not a sandy beach, but a coral beach, which made the visability awesome! The soft corals are beautiful, all different colors of large fan coral, and we saw a lot of cool fish - everywhere you looked was something amazing from a 6 foot nurse shark and 4 foot eels to schools of blue tang and amber jack as well as groupers and angelfish. It is a short drive to the best sandy beach on the island, Flamenco Beach, as well as great restaurants like Mamacitas. I would definitely recommend staying here, the location is more than awesome and the check in service was friendly and quick -Gail was great and let us check in early and provided good information on grocery stores and snorkeling. It was a lovely, peaceful stay with beautiful views and great snorkeling - we loved it
Stayed April 2017, travelled as a couple
Reviewed 13 April 2017
We didn't go to Culebra to shop or go out bar hopping or even tô be around people. We went to be alone and enjoy peace and tranquility. We found that at Tamarindo Estates. It's not a modern upscale resort. It's simple yet ample it has all you need to seclude yourself and enjoy natural animal sounds. It has the best snorkeling as long as you bring dive shoes or booties. The managers were knowledgeable about where the best snorkeling was. If you want to see the island I recommend renting a Jeep . Most things aren't far away but the hills are steep so a Jeep will get you there. The staff at Tamarindo were available and friendly yet didn't hover over us. It was a very tranquil and peaceful week.
Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Reviewed 1 April 2017
My husband and I stayed at Tamarindo Estates for the second time this March, 2017 and found Tamarindo as delightful as our first visit. The views from the beach apartments are truly astounding. The atmosphere is extremely relaxing and there are always knowledgeable and friendly employees close by to help with any questions one might have. Guests are also given three cell phone numbers to call if need be.
The distance from town is perfect, although the road getting there isn't but is still perfectly drivable even in a golf cart. Tamarindo is far enough away from the (relative) bustle and noise of town to be quiet and secure but closer than many of the more upscale accommodations on the island.
Tamarindo is not a luxury resort by any means. The apartments are simple and clean. Be sure to bring all of your own food, spices, beverages, ice, etc. The views and proximity to great snorkeling however, are FANTASTIC!
We will be back to Tamarindo Estates for visit number three!
Stayed March 2017
Reviewed 28 March 2017
First, Culebra is beautiful. Do yourself a favor and visit.
Tamarindo Estates should be THE destination for those who want to snorkel the island. It's not a "where's the room service" destination but rather a place where you'll be away from noise of the downtown area, from the crowded beach areas, and a few hundred yards from some of the most beautiful coral reefs the island has to offer.
The rooms are EXACTLY as advertised, kitchenette/cabin style which won't always feature the Keurig coffeepot you find in a generic hotel but our room featured an old-school expresso coffee pot which makes strong coffee, perfect for the island. The rooms ARE rustic, the views ARE incredible, the location IS private, and the reef IS spectacular. The coffee pot was key to our experience....... make our own coffee, make our own adventure: be it sit on the deck and take in the island breeze and fabulous view OR snorkel from the private beach where the stunning coral reef is just a few feet away OR snorkel with the stingrays and turtles at the public beach just down the road. Beyond that, it's a tiny island........ snorkeling sites, swimming sites, restaurants, bars, etc are just a short drive away.
The staff was incredible: friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. Some of the staff live on-site and are easily approachable. Plus, they were happy...... they weren't generic hotel employees plodding through their day but were engaging and ready to help with anything from recommending a place to buy groceries..... to the best seafood to eat at the local restaurants.
It's true, if you are coming to the island to have someone who hates their job bring you a drink at the pool and call down to have dinner sent up to the room....... this is not your place. If you want to fashion your own vacation based around snorkeling the island, if you enjoy setting your own agenda not starting around "breakfast from 6:30 to 9 in the lobby," if you understand roosters and chickens are part of the Caribbean islands..... like the tiniest little gecko who appeared in the bathroom one morning, come to Tamarindo Estates.
- Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Reviewed 12 March 2017
My wife and I spent a week here in February. We arrived early and were lucky enough that the manager happened to be in the office and since our room was ready let us check in early. The manager went over all the things we needed to know and answered all of our questions. My goal was to snorkel all over Culebra and the reef in front of the beach house was one of the best. The apartment was very comfortable, the kitchen well stocked, overall condition clean, clean, clean. Just the view from the place and the location was worth the price. Sure, you have a bad short section of roadway (we just slowed our golf cart and veered around) no biggie. Sure, you have noisy roosters (they are all over Culebra, even on the tarmac at the airport) no biggie. Sure, we had to dispose of our garbage, real no biggie. All in all Culebra and the Tamarindo Estates were as advertised and no road, no rooster or garbage duty will keep me from returning.
- Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Reviewed 6 March 2017
Let me start by saying the if you are looking for a 5-star resort don’t read any further – find another place.
Because Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments is not a luxury place. It as actually the opposite – rather primitive.
And I don’t mind staying at primitive places. But the price has to match the standard. And in this case I don’t feel it does. It is to expensive compared to what you get.
Let’s start in the small bedroom. The bed is very small (smaller than a normal queen size bed in most hotels). It squeaks a lot – so you will wake up when your partner moves.
The air-condition is very noisy. So we had to turn it off and open the windows. Not a big problem – except for all the wild (and noisy) chickens and roosters right outside.
In the small living room (and kitchen) there is a futon – made of plastic leather. Not very comfortable material in this kind of heat.
The kitchen is very basic – and missing a lot of kitchen equipment. A basic kitchen knife, trivets, wine glass etc. would have been nice. We could have asked for it – and they would probably have got it for us. But I don’t feel it is my assignment to tell them what to put in the kitchen drawers and cabinets.
We were told that we could adjust the shower temperature. But in reality there were only two options – cold or burning hot.
There is a small beach house by the beach. It looks like it has been a great place in the past (when there also were a pool). But now it is as run down as all the other places.
I really hate to point out all the bad things. Because I feel it could be so much better. Tamarindo Estates has a great potential. It is a really nice place with amazing view (and a beautiful sunset).
But it seems like not enough is down to keep it up to standard. And I am afraid it is getting even worse in the future.
- Stayed February 2017, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
This guest obviously did not do his homework by reading our web site before booking with us. We are very frank and honest about what we provide here at Tamarindo Estates. We never try to hide the fact that we offer basic, even rustic accommodations, even showing photos of the rooms and describing the size of beds, etc. We never claim to offer luxury accommodations.
What we do offer, in the way of luxury, is 60 acres of luxurious, undeveloped greenery on the ocean with spectacular views and stunning sunsets. We cater to the special kind of guest that is looking to get away from the norm of everyday living and enjoy a refreshing change of pace. We offer security, seclusion and a world-class snorkeling reef. We offer stunning views from guests' private patios, and we have, housed here on the property, caretakers that are on call at all times, to care for guests needs.
We find it odd that a guest would prefer to do without something rather than ask, and later write a review complaining that they did not want to ask. This is very odd, due to the fact that during the check-in process the guest is given three phone numbers, including the personal cell number of the property manager. And, the guests are urged to call for any reason, whether it is questions, needs, or problems, and told it is not an imposition on us for them to call; that it is our desire to make them happy. We also mention again, when we take them to the apartment, to please call us, whatever the need.
As for the shower temperature, we realize that a lot of people are not accustomed to the typical Puerto Rican water heater that is an instantaneous heater attached to the showerhead. We do give instructions on the use and how to regulate the temperature when we take guests to their apartments. Many savvy travelers are very familiar with these water heaters, and have no problem at all.
Yes, we do maintenance, yearly, monthly, and weekly. This climate and the conditions caused from being so close to the ocean make it necessary. Again, we are sorry this guest did not find the luxury he was looking for, but that is not easily found in this part of the world. We would like to offer the suggestion that in the future he does his homework before booking anywhere.
Reviewed 28 February 2017
This is not a luxury hotel as none are in Culebra. Room was ok had a decent kitchen water pressure was low. Pool is not open due to renovation, but I did not see any signs of renovations. The beach is great for snorkeling. Place could use better lighting and road leading to the place is in terrible condition. You have to put out your own garbage, and if you need additional garbage bags you have to purchase them which is ridiculous.
I found the place overpriced.
- Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
The management at Tamarindo Estates would like to thank you for giving us a good rating. We would like to address a couple of your comments, though.
We are sorry that you, personally, felt that our establishment is overpriced. That statement was a surprise, due to the fact that you and your wife have stayed here with us before. We can only think the "overpriced " statement stems from the fact that you failed to disclose, on booking, that you were bringing two extra adults, thus a total of 4 adults. When we found out that you had two extra adults with you, of course we charged you for them.
We have many repeat guests that have made Tamarindo Estates a frequent destination. They obviously feel the price we charge is commensurate with what we have to offer in the way of gorgeous ocean views, 60 acres of undeveloped greenery, and world class snorkeling reef with private beach house and walk-in access
As far as the road, we have addressed this issue before. The road leading to Tamarindo Estates is maintained by the Municipality of Culebra. Our private road begins at the white fence, and is well maintained. The Municipality did pave a long portion of their road last year, making it a much more pleasant drive along the ocean to get to TE. However, we do acknowledge that the Municipality did not finish the road, but they have promised that when they have the funds and are able to get a truck on the ferry from the mainland, they will do so.
As far as the pool being closed for renovations, we do not advertise having a pool, so if you booked with that expectation, we suggest you read carefully the property description before booking anywhere and ask questions if you are still unsure of having a pool or not.
We offer in our rental apartments bedding, towels, dishes, and cooking pots, along with a full size refrigerator and a flat top, four burner range, a microwave and toaster oven. As a courtesy to our guests, we supply, to get you started, paper towels, toilet paper, dish soap, full sized bars of bath soap, and lined garbage cans in the kitchen and bathroom. We do not supply any food items and we do not offer maid service. We do not take out garbage or supply additional paper products or garbage bags. This not a standard type hotel with daily maid service. We are renting beach apartments and most guests expect to purchase their supplies for their stay at the local grocery stores.
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile
Awesome adventure!!! Gorgeous place to stay!!! Snorkeling was the Best... Flamenco beach walking distance from estate...Highly recommend....The staff was very accommodating and wonderful people. Beautiful views from which ever villa you stay here..
Stayed June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Tamarindo Estates. We are so happy you chose to stay with us and enjoy the beautiful views, as well as the world class snorkeling that is accessible from our private beach area.
The staff always tries to accommodate our guests and make them feel like the appreciated guests they are. We were so happy to hear that we succeeded in your case.
We enjoyed having you with us for the six nights and look forward to your planned return this winter.
Reviewed 29 March 2016
I hesitate to write this as I don't want the word to get out too much. Staying at Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments was the best choice we made on this trip. It truly made for the most relaxing vacation ever and I will not hesitate to go back in a heart beat. In general in Culebra you are not going to find a fancy resort. This was perfect. The little apartments have everything you could need to make your stay unforgettable. The internet service was pretty good most of the time (depending on the wind), the kitchen had everything you would need to make meals each day (with the exception that you should remember to buy any spices you may need to cook and cooking oil - the apartment had utensils, pots, pans, etc.) If you are looking to be waited on and have your room cleaned each day then you probably shouldn't have picked Culebra in the first place. Tamarindo Estates is the greatest (along with Jerry's Jeep Rental).
Reviewed 8 March 2016
We traveled to Culebra in February to escape the winter cold in New York and to scuba dive. Our choice for housing was Tamarindo Estates where we stayed for the entirety of our 18 days on Culebra. There are 12 apartments on the estate housed within three structures. All are facing west. The apartments have a sizeable porch along with a kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. The apartments are not large but are quite comfortable. Linens and towels are supplied. The bedroom has an air conditioner that easily cools the bedroom and can also cool the entire apartment if all the windows are closed. We found that air conditioning was not necessary but its there for those who wish it.
All windows had screens so we simply left the windows open all day and night. An interesting anomaly is the hot water supply. Hot water only emanates from the shower. The sinks only produce cold water.
The kitchen has a stove, sink, microwave, toaster, and refrigerator along with plates, glasses, silver ware and pots and pans. Our routine was to eat out for lunch and have dinner at the apartment or vice versa. There are three grocery stores on the island that are well stocked, including alcohol. On mornings when we were scheduled to scuba dive we traveled into town to first have breakfast and then go scuba diving with Culebra Divers. We often went into town around 8 am to find parking near to the Culebra Divers shop. After our dives and lunch in town we arrived back at the apartment around 2-3 pm. Later in the day as sunset approached we would sit on our porch and watch the sun descend, just spectacular!!
It is a short walk down to the beach within the estate. It is home to one of the most elegant shallow reefs we have ever seen in the Caribbean. It is a must snorkel if you are staying at Tamarindo. The estate owners/managers do not allow non-guests onto the properties hence the beach area is a very quiet, private and peaceful place. It is a natural beach that translates into rocky so some care is required while entering and leaving the water.
The estates are at the end of a road that allows access to Tamarindo beach. The road is in need of repair but is passable. To stay at Tamarindo or any rental property on Culebra requires a car. There are taxies but there is no “real” public transportation. There are three car/jeep/golf carts rental establishments on the island. Make a reservation before you arrive.
Tamarindo delivers all that any traveler needs. Its strength is the setting along with the natural sounds of the surrounding forest and the truly beautiful vistas of Luis Pena islet directly to the west, Vieques to the south and on a clear day behind Luis Pena islet it was possible to see Puerto Rico.
Reviewed 22 February 2016
If you love snorkeling and don't mind living simply, this place is for you. The apartments have a view of the sea and the islands beyond. This is an underwater nature preserve where you can see a gorgeous garden of coral, tropical fish, octopus, stingray, turtles and crabs. You can choose from the rocky beach, private to the property, with a shelter and toilets or the sandy beach nearby.
The noisy roosters described in other reports have been removed for the most part. You can still hear some in the distance by the sandy beach. The is indeed not much hot water, but the small apartments are fine enough if you are not looking for luxury, just nature. A fabulous excursion is to Flamenco Beach parking lot, where you can take the hike over the mountain to a section of Tamarindo beach that has beautiful coral gardens and lovely sand. Or continue on the trail to Carlos Rosario beach, which has very large dramatic coral, although a bit farther of a swim out to reach the reef.
Room Tip: Upper rooms have better views of the bay, but all rooms have views. Wifi is spotty.
Reviewed 14 February 2016
We found our stay very private, and enjoyed our very simple little dwelling up on the hill overlooking the bay. The apartment was almost too sparse (paper towels? kleenex? a couple kitchen items like salt and pepper or cooking oil would be so nice). The bed had a plastic undercover I found uncomfortable However... We loved the access to a beach for snorkeling that was very satisfying once we figured out how to get past the rocks and corral and get into the water. The privacy (we were alone in a three apartment building) I hope someone fixes the road to the Estates soon. It is both comical and a bit dangerous riding a golf cart up the hills to get to the estates and to Tamarindo Bay. We managed, but it was desperately in need of road repair! You have to have a good neck to take all the bumps!
Room Tip: The 300 building has a great view.
Reviewed 16 January 2016
For 2 weeks in Jan. my husband and I shared the commanding view of the hills of Luis Pena Nature Preserve and smaller surrounding islands inhabited by turtles, rays and fish, from the red-tiled deck of our practical- but- plain cottage in the acacia woods. Except for the visiting hens and chicks, thrushes , mourning doves and iguanas it was very quiet up here--even with 2 adjoining cottages. After a steep half-mile Jeep drive up a very rutted road past a security gate we carried luggage and groceries up 25 steps to the cottage.(There are lower cottages as well, 12 in all) . While the affable managers, Gail and Dennis Johnson make every to support your comfort, Tamarindo Estates provides like many of rental apartments on Culebra, basic amenities which could do with a bit of upgrading. Our cottage had an extra bed and a futon but standard double bed. Most items are provided except for extras for the beach like coolers, beach chairs,and similar equipment would need to be rented or purchased. Many renters expect to find at least sugar and salt and some other disposables like charcoal for the grill available but that was not the case at Tamarindo Estates. We were well-cooled by the combination of a./c. and ceiling fans and occasional island breezes but at this time there was little or no hot water. The scarcity of supplies reflects Culebra as a whole:everything must be brought in by ferry from the mainland expensively.
A short walk brings you to a secluded strip of pebbly shore: Tamarindo Beach- where you can snorkel if you wear water-shoes and are sure-footed at high tide.
There, green turtles,rays, and even an occasional octopus may be observed. Otherwise read or see what the bay has washed up from the chaises and picnic tables.
One of the world class beaches, Flamenco, is a short drive down the hill where you can body surf and lounge under the palms or buy local foods from kiosks there.
This small island has two roads leading to several gorgeous beaches as well as many choices for meals Tamarindo Estates easily accesses those.
It was a beautiful, restful experience to get away from winter for a bit.
- Stayed January 2016, travelled as a couple
Reviewed 6 January 2016
This is not a "hidden gem." I was able to snatch the last of the 12 cottages in early September for our New Year's stay. The place is popular for two good reasons: proximity to the Flamenco beach and excellent snorkeling from the private beach that belongs to Tamarindo Estates. Beach house is a nice amenity.
I would not call the accommodations "rustic" or "basic," either. A decent size cottage house with a patio and a grill. A/C, hot water, good kitchen.
Yes, great views from the patio.
It is about 3 minutes walk to the beach where you can snorkel. We saw excursion boats and kayaks parked at the buoys, which means that people paid to get there to snorkel. A sandy beach is about 7 minutes walk from the property, if that. You can rent a kayak and snorkeling gear from one of the companies on sandy beach and paddle to Grand Tamarindo beach or, if you are experienced you can go across the bay to Pena reserve. The experience will come handy since there are currents to consider.
A couple that manages the place are very nice people. We bought fish from them, "today's catch" and it was wonderful to cook the fish fresh from the ocean.
WiFi may be a problem. It works unpredictable hours when it does. T-Mobile has no reception in this area.
- Stayed December 2015, travelled with family
Reviewed 23 December 2015
The view from our cottage porch was incredible! The most beautiful scenery and sunsets imaginable (you think you are in Tahiti). This is a gated property with several cottages high on a hilltop. There is a beach-house on the private shore with picnic tables, lounge chairs and bathroom facilities for guests only. The best part is that there is great snorkeling right there. The coral reefs are right in front. Do not step in the water barefoot, as there are many sea urchins. You need water shoes. There are many fish and coral to see while snorkeling. I heard there are also many sea turtles, however, I did not see them, as I was in the wrong area. I only have 2 complaints. The road leading into Tamarind Bay is the worst road I ever drove on. I rented a golf cart, but even if I had a jeep, this road has very deep potholes. You need to drive very slowly and carefully the last half mile to the property. I did not want to drive this road at night, so we bought food at a grocery store and ate our dinners in (which actually is a great idea as you have the best views from your porch). The other complaint is the shower (it is either cold or extremely hot, no in-between). Also Flamenco Beach is only a 10 minute drive away.
- Stayed December 2015, travelled as a couple
“One week in heaven”
Reviewed 21 December 2015
We stayed at Tamarindo Estates for 8 days and 7 nights. The cottages are spaced in such a way that we felt as if we were living in our own private beach house. Every morning we would cook breakfast and eat outside overlooking beautiful blue waters and lush scenery. Our host, Gayle, was very knowledgeable about the local attractions and spent time with us marking out a map of Calebra so we knew where the best grocery stores and attractions could be found. There is a beach house with access to an incredible coral reef just a few minutes walk from each property. It was world class snorkeling!
If you are looking for a pompous resort with a chocolate on your pillow at night this may not be the place for you, but if you are looking for a charming and comfortable cottage with a million dollar view and perfect snorkeling location, this is it!
- Stayed December 2015, travelled with family
Reviewed 29 July 2015
I like peace and quiet, and this place is perfect for that. Lots of space - stunning views (particularly from our room #101). The challenge in Latin America/Caribbean in general is figuring out how to avoid incessant loud music - there is none here. It is blissfully quiet. Beautiful pool and beach. But access is via one of the worst roads I've ever experienced - apparently the owner and present mayor don't get along. So - be sure to rent a jeep or a golf cart to get here - it is really back of the beyond. But nice apartment - nice porch - nice kitchen. Wifi is there, but spotty - ok for email, but don't count on watching movies.
Reviewed 27 July 2015
I stayed at Tamarindo Estates for two nights over Memorial Day weekend. I am from Chicago and live a "city life." Therefore, I was initially apprehensive after reading some reviews stating that a stay here was too bare bones and not a pleasant experience.
We had a wonderful time!! The location is amazing: our cottage had a balcony that overlooked turquoise water. We went snorkeling at Tamarindo Beach, where we encountered sea turtles, a ray and beautiful coral. We loved it so much that we snorkeled there twice on the same day - once in the morning, and another at sunset. The beach is just a short drive from the cottages.
Culebra is an island that is off-the-beaten-path, and I'd say Tamarindo Estates simply reflects this. The amenities were comfortable, but not new. The bed was just okay, but we slept just fine. Again, this is the nature of just about everything on Culebra. The owners are wonderful people and stayed open late for us when our flight was delayed.
I hope to make it back to Culebra one day, and I'd certainly stay at Tamarindo again!
- Stayed May 2015, travelled as a couple
YOU MAY READ ALL TripAdvisor REVIEWS OF TAMARINDO ESTATES BEACH APTS. BY CLICKING HERE.
Keep in mind that once you enter the TripAdvisor website you will be led to look at other rental properties, many of which are rental partners of TripAdvisor, but we are not. If you want to check availability or rent an apartment at Tamarindo Estates you need to come back to our web site http://www.tamarindoestates.com and/or verify and BOOK DIRECT with us HERE. None of the booking agents like Booking.com, Expedia.com, TripAdvisor.com, Flipkey.com, Priceline.com, etc. are presently authorized to rent apartments for us, nor do they have any factual knowledege regarding room availabilities at Tamarindo Estates.
TAMARINDO ROAD. One of the major complaints from our guests throughout the years is the 3/4 mile municipality road that leads into Tamarindo Estates, which was severly potted. We are happy to announce that as of May 10, 2016 the Municipality finished paving most of the road.
Box 313, Culebra, PR 00775 - 787-742-3343
Box 313, Culebra, PR 00775 - 787-742-3343